Security Installer Community

Another Which Wireless Alarm Thread

thorfun

Hi all,

i've been researching Wireless alarms and came across this forum and I have done quite a lot of reading on here and this seems to be the place to go for good advice! i know there are other "which wireless alarm" threads and I hope that you guys aren't completely sick of these just yet and are good to give a bit more advice.

I have got 4 quotes from NSI approved companies and, if we ignore costs for the moment, I wanted some advice on which hardware would be the best to go for out of the following:

Visonic PowerMax

Scantronic ion-16

Pyronix Enforcer

I'm sure each has it's good and bad points and it's really hard to know which is the best system as I have no experience in alarms!

it's for a residential new build and I'll be looking to have 4 x door contacts and 5 x PIRs in the house with the option to zone the system so that i can arm the door contacts and leave the PIRs disarmed at night to allow free movement for the family at night time to keep the perimeter secure and then do a full arm of the entire system when the house is empty. 

we don't currently have any pets but the chances are we will be getting a cat and a dog at some point in the near future.

from the reading I've done I am leaning towards a 2-way RF system in which case that would be the Enforcer. But, is it as simple as that? is it a case of don't bother with 1-way RF alarms? in which case this is a simple choice! if not, what do the other 2 offer to make them better than the 2-way Enforcer system? reliability?

i'm not so fussed about the aesthetics of the panel as it will be hidden away under the stairs but I've read that the PIRs and Door contacts on the Pyronix are larger than the other makes. is the size difference substantial to make them an eye sore or are we talking about small margins here?

I hope you can shed some sage advice and many thanks in advance.