Security Installer Community

Starting Up

Hiya,

I'm new to this forum so treat me gently. Believe it or not I'm actually an apprentice for a very big fire & security company in UK based all over. I'll be qualified in July and hopefully start a fire and security company mid to end of his year.

I've worked in the industry for nearly 5 years doing mainly fire but have installed dozens of intruder, cctv and access control. I'm after some advice on how to start up? What do I need etc such as tools, van.

What's the best way of getting customers to start off with? Ads on websites, leaflets around estates?

I don't want to be messed around with or lead off the subject, I'd like some proper advice if possible. I am very eager and willing to commit myself to long days and wanting a successful business.

For the moment I am going to run this business on a part time basis on an evening and weekends, just to see how I cope with it, whilst still having a daytime job. Do I register self employed whilst still working for another company?

I have a logo all ready, company name will be TPE Fire & Security and have all literature and sales literature ready.

I've seen forum on here which have been very successful like Wolf Fire & Security. They look great and I'd hopefully want to do something like that; start small, build big!

Open to suggestions on how I should start?

My advice on starting an electronic security company is - don't.

However is your silly enough -

a) form a ltd; co.

b) inform your current employer

c) advertising - lettered van + website is all we do

The problem is, you need to be established & approved to get the work worth doing.

• Upvote 1

Mr? Veritas God

I'd hopefully want to do something like that; start small, build big!

Unfortunately - in this industry - I'd argue the only real 'way in' left is start big already (i.e aquisition), get even bigger...

Edited by datadiffusion