Security Installer Community

Veritas Excel New Install - Eol Question

Mark02

I am an engineer by trade and work on low voltage/hydraulic systems so as DIYer's go I am quite good with wiring so after a spate of housing being broken into around my area I have decided to fit a burglar alarm. I used to have a pants wireless system but got bored changing batteries so ripped it out.

I have just received a Texecom Veritas Excel system complete with door contacts, bell box, PIR's and an internal dual sounder/speaker.

I have read the installation manual, understood most of it with ease BUT then came to the page about EOL, resistor etc :mfr_omg:

Now I have never come across this before so for this I am going to need help. I can fit everything where I want it, run all the cables, do the programming ..... just not the EOL without good advice.

The way I sort of understand it is that EOL increase security and when a device is tampered with the keypad/system will tell me what device has been tampered with. I also read it as the tamp option on the PCB is not used so bridged out. I am sure somebody will laugh at me and swiftly correct me if above is wrong.

So do I need EOL, is it more secure and more reliable, any pro's or con's to consider and I suppose the key thing where do the resistors go and how do I wire them. I have also read online about shunt resistors ..... are these related/needed.

:banghead:  :cry:  :help:

Edited by Mark02

Here is a quite good page - http://www.structuredhomewiring.com/TamperProofWiring.aspx

Easier than explaining it.

On the texecom the resistor values will differ, but the principle is the same. Always use EOL, its great.

So, I've decided to take my work back underground.... to stop it falling into the wrong hands

That's a useful link for a DIYer DD.

The Excel is quite a basic panel and has odd EOL values.