Security Installer Community

Starting Up

Good day people, wish to get advice from people in the know.

First up, im a fully qualifed security engineer with a BTEC in security systems. I've got 8 years expreince in dealing with mostly commercial CCTV solutions.

However I wish to branch out on my own and become a independent installer.

Can I get advice from you for good public liability companies (how much should it cost?) and ways to advertise?

Also do I need to be accredited by SSAIB or Nacoss?

Thanks in advance!!

Welcome to tsi.

My first suggestion is don't set up on your own. What benefit will it give you? Are you prepared to possible go heavily into debt and to live a lower standard of living  that you do today for a number of years before you *might* make some money out of it suplimented by the increase in work hours for no extra pay. If not, this is definatly not a venture for you. As a company we are busy aquiring failing approved companies and there seems to be an ever increasing amount of them around suggesting it isn't maybe the sector to start up in.

If you want approval, public liability is just 1 of a few insurances you will need, and that on it's own is costly.

You don't need accreditation, but without it, for the time being the work you have been used to doing for your employer might be off limits and that on it's own can cost £2-3k to get it you factor in all the things you will need to buy and time to spend getting it with not a single guarantee of any work. Without approval you could only compete with stan the sparky who will do full comp maintenance for £30 a year and you need a lot of £30 per years to pay your overheads. The other issue is how are you going to recruit customers from stan the sparky? It is a saturated market and unless you have a USP then why would someone move over to you than the guy that they have trusted for a few years as they do now?