Security Installer Community

Alarm Ringing

Rekusu

Hi there,

Newbie here! I have a Honeywell Accenta Gen 4 control with Reson8 sounder. Self installed during a new build and all been

running well for the last 9 months.

This morning, I pressed the 'Set' button, the normal exit countdown started and when

finished, the alarm rang, but not with the normal two tone sound, just an extremely high pitched

continuous sound. I opened the front door and entered my code, but the sound continued

for about 30 seconds and gradually died, with a sort of decreasing 'throttling'

sound.

I have used engineer mode to check, and everything seems fine, although the bell test

brings back this high pitch noise (as I said above, not the normal two tone alarm.) The

log reveals nothing unusual.

It has been suggested that the sounder is not getting mains power and it is running off the

internal ni-cad battery, which is now probably near dead and as this runs down, the sounder would give a 'throttling'

sound.

But why a different tone to the normal alarm? How do I check if the sounder battery is getting power? Can I open the control panel and /or sounder without triggering the alarm by opening it when in engineer mode?

Many thanks in advance,

Rex

An Up-Date.

I have been playing around with the Control Panel and it seems that the battery is OK (12V output; but I'm not an electrician.) However, when I put the voltmeter across the mains input, before the transformer, the needle only twitches a micro amount; certainly not giving a reading on the 0-250 volt scale.

Then did an Alarm Test in Engineer mode. Bell on/off triggers the sounder and turns off instantly when 'off' is selected; Strobe on/off also triggers the sounder (should it?) which does not turn off instantly, but dies gradually.