Security Installer Community

Rookie - Intruder Alarm Questions.....

jmsa7

Hello,

I'm a rookie service Engineer mostly working with fire detection systems with little experience in intruder alarm systems.

There is a job I have to do in which I have to do a functional check in different alarm systems on a big site in different buildings. Each building has its own panel with door contacts and PIR's. The panels involved are Menvier TS900, Nexus 8 and Abacus.

I believe that I should check the batteries, if the devices set and unset correctly, if the door contacts and PIR's activate the alarm and if the sounders go off. Anything that should be included?

Now my questions:

Batteries/Tamper: How do I properly check the batteries? When taking the cover, will the alarm go off?

PIR's: Some systems have 3 or more PIR's. Do I need to set the system for each PIR? If so how can I do it if I'm on my own? Will the system set if im wondering around inside the building?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Is this a homer or has your company asked you to do this and chucking you in the deep end? Testing and maintaining an intruder system is much like a fire alarm maintenance. You should have a check-list, docket and a meter for your readings.

Batteries/Tamper: Check voltage/charge-discharge rate/install date - Panel will go into tamper if you aren't in engineer mode (do you even have the code?)

PIR's: Stick it on walk test and check each device.

Download the user manuals for each of the panels you've listed, that will walk you through most of it before you touch a button but to be honest someone with a bit more experience should be doing it and you should be following them around with your little black book.