Security Installer Community

Help A Lost Sole Trader Starting Out

Oxford

Hi all, I am new to this forum and I am hoping a few of you guys who are self employed or employers can help me out.

I am a service engineer working for a large multinational security company but I am going to make this year "My Year" to start working for myself in this industry.

I understand it is going to be a hard slog to get the client base and reoccurring revenue to succeed but I have a good general knowledge of this industry, fault finding and basic install knowledge, I have worked in the security industry for 10+ years now.

I have a good bunch of friends from varying backgrounds who are more than happy to help me out on bigger jobs and with the little things as well (all self employed, witch in good!)

But, what I lack is the knowledge of what to do now!

I guess I need to register as a sole trader but thats where it ends!

Can anyone offer me a rough step by step of how to approach this the right way?

How do you guys advertise (on a limited budget?

How do you get your sales leads etc etc..?

I have a family to support and don't want to f' this up!

Thanks in advance for all your help.

And.......

How do I get the relevant SSAIB or similar accreditation to satisfy clients?

What is the easiest/ quickest relevant accreditation to get and get me started?

I will only be using speech diallers to begin with as I guess this the easiest way to offer monitoring to a client without the relevant accreditation?

As you can see I have been institutionalised by the company I work for and need to break free and breath again!!!

Hi Oxford

Welcome to the forum.