Security Installer Community

New House - Which Alarm And How To Run Cabling

ibruceuk

Hi all,

We are looking to move into a new property soon and I am researching the options with regards alarming the property.

I think I have narrowed it down to either a Galaxy Dimension or G2 OR Texecom Premier.

I will be DIY'ing it - I am a network engineer by trade and have previously been a telecoms engineer and electrical engineer.

I need it to protect numerous house zones (which isn't an issue) but also a detached workshop and an additional outbuilding.  Getting cabling to the outbuildings isn't a problem (underground ducting is in place).  In a normal disarm situation the outbuildings will need to remain armed and protected but with an option of disarming all areas if need be.  A keypad in each outbuilding will allow local disarming of that area if used also.

I believe that either of the Galaxy or Texecom will facilitate this configuration - am I correct in this assumption?

My second query is running the cabling inside the house.

The house is non-traditional with concrete floors/ceilings so traditional methods of running cabling in floor voids is not an option.  How would a professional go about installing a system in such a property with regard to hiding of cabling?

Thanks for any input....

Ian

Thanks for the reply.

Sorry for the confusion... it's not a 'new' new house it's new to me!  So all trades etc are run already.  I've not got the keys yet but I know upstairs ceilings are all solid concrete and the upstairs floor is concrete but the ceiling might have been boarded downstairs as there are downlights fitted which obviously couldn't be in a solid ceiling but there would be no access to the cabling without hacking holes in it...

In Glasgow we have a lot of properties like yours which are Concrete Pre-Fabs.

Few points

Check when drilling into concrete for any asbestos and etc however I sure your Home Report will shown that.