Security Installer Community

Ssaib Questions

Hey everyone,

I've been trading as an subcontractor for about 8 months now. Been an engineer for about 8 years for the normal global fire and security companies you know the ones.

I seem to get more and more people call up for intruder and cctv products, but I really would rather not subcontract any more and push my own brand. (Don't we all!)

Now I've looked at nsi, but gold is far beyond my reach at the moment, as for ISO:9001.

But ssaib is cheaper, and I don't need ISO:9001.

My questions are basic ones to be honest, what is your experience with ssaib? I've only ever worked and would only work for gold companies in the past. Would it gain me more customers in the long run.

And does anyone have a list of the standards they inspect, don't get me wrong I always install to a gold standard, as I've been trained to, but standards change and no one is perfect. But it goes a long way to make sure I'm doing everything as it should be.

Many thanks

Andy

Gold standard?

Both SSAIB and NSI inspect to European / British standards. NSI do have some additional codes of practice but the reality is we install alarms to rules not designed by either inspectorates. If you have been trained to a 'gold' level words such as bs8243, pd6662, en50131 should be on the tip of your tongue and you would already know what standards you were to be audited against as if you are currently installing systems for inspectorate approved companies, you should already know how to do it and what those standards are.If you can't, how are the people your subbing for sure that what your doing is compliant with their approval?

Don't be under the illusion that any inspectorate approval will pave the streets with gold, far from it.

Funny enough I had this exact conversation with one of my subbys today and the outcome of that conversation was he could see he would make more money subbing for me than going it alone and all the costs that go with it.