Security Installer Community

Scantronic 9448+ ~ How Do You Power Down System ?

itworks22

Hi - came home today and switched off burglar alarm as usual - no problem - excepting some minutes later (I probably triggered an internal Passive infra-red sensor) the internal box sounded. I was able to switch it off using my code but this only lasted until my movement triggered the alarm again.

After repeating this several times, I entered Engineer's Access code which is the default for a Scantronic and immediately saw that the original installation company's engineer had marked the Yuasa backup battery install 8/99 replace 8/02. As I'm a computer engineer, I have various batteries for UPS and had a replacement and swapped it over.

Having now read these forums, perhaps I should have powered down the box first ?

But I wouldn't have dreamt of touching anything else in any case.

What concerns me now is that the battery I've put in albeit new must be 3 - 4 years old - will be flat as a pancake - and probably as near bad as the one that's been taken out. So, I've ordered a fresh one due in tomorrow.

After I closed the box, the tamper light was still lit and the internal box sounds again some minutes later - this time entering my code only delays the internal siren for a minute or so. The control panel looked OK - nothing obviously damaged and I was wondering whether I have followed the correct procedure for changing the battery ?

Right now, I've gone back into Engineer's Access mode (all the lights are flashing).

Can I leave it in this mode for 12 hours or more until I get my new battery ?

It did occur to me that the problem may be with the external bell box as we've had torrential rain today in the South but that may be coincidental now I know the Control Panel's battery is 9 years old. Is there a similar battery in the external bell box too ?