Security Installer Community

Advice Needed

I've taken on the task of installing a door entry system throughout our company. We want to have swipe card readers and solenoids on each of a dozen doors. Access on certain doors needs to be restricted to certain individuals only. This all needs to administered centrally and every time someone passes through a door the event needs to be recorded in a database. Fortunately, i'm a computer programmer and competent electrician.

I'm quite sure that there are proprietory systems out there, but we want to have the flexibility gained by doing all this in-house. So without wanting to re-invent the wheel, I was wondering if there is anywhere where I can get information and advice from. Is this the correct forum? Or is there somewhere better?

Ian

I've taken on the task of installing a door entry system throughout our company. We want to have swipe card readers and solenoids on each of a dozen doors. Access on certain doors needs to be restricted to certain individuals only. This all needs to administered centrally and every time someone passes through a door the event needs to be recorded in a database. Fortunately, i'm a computer programmer and competent electrician.

I'm quite sure that there are proprietory systems out there, but we want to have the flexibility gained by doing all this in-house. So without wanting to re-invent the wheel, I was wondering if there is anywhere where I can get information and advice from. Is this the correct forum? Or is there somewhere better?

Ian

Hmmm as an ex IT manager who was responsible for security I would advise VERY STRONGLY INDEED not to do that.

You're entering a minefield regarding Health & Safety, Insurance, Product Liability etc. :ninja:

Don't even think about it, get professionals in. :)

Hmmm as an ex IT manager who was responsible for security I would advise VERY STRONGLY INDEED not to do that.