Security Installer Community

Computer Server Rooms

Guest Dyfrig Roberts

Guest Dyfrig Roberts

`Hi I am a Computer technician for a small company and we have a Server room that is airconditioned and only allows certain persons access to the room

We try and keep the servers working at a peak condition and at a constant temperature

We have a fully monitored alarm system that goes to a Central Station

My problem is last night I happened to have to go into the office to pick something up and discovered that the Air Conditioning had failed

Does anyone know of a temperature sensor we could link into the Alarm system to give a low and high reading that could alert the station so one of the keyholders could be informed

Guest quantum

We use APC environmental monitoring products, for Fluid, Temperature / humidity, smoke monitoring, but they do loads of other sensors too.

I remotely manage several server rooms via the WAN / Internet. The APC exipment can be set to warn you via email, SMS etc,

If you already use APC UPS, there's a chance you can just add an environmental monitoring card and sensor, works out fairly cheap.

http://www.apc.com/products/family/index.cfm?id=26

http://www.apc.com/products/category.cfm?id=17

What about a Menvier SD2 dialler, it has a temperature sensor built in and can phone you if the temperature is exceeded.

The opinions I express are mine and are usually correct!

(Except when I'm wrong)(which I'm not)

It would be ideal if you had one of the panels mentioned by jameswilson as you would be able to alert the central station. The UPS mentioned by quantum and SD2 dialler are also good ideas for contacting you directly without the involvement of the central station.