Security Installer Community

Video Quality Difference On Handheld Monitor And Dvr

Hello, this is my first post in the forum. I'm an electrician by trade but do alot of cctv work for my customers aswell. I'm currently doing some work on a horticultural nursery, I have installed a camera to cover their diesel tank as they spend £1000 a week refilling it for the use of their vehicles, and they have reason to believe diesel is stolen on a regular basis. Due to the nature of the business huge distances are involved and the diesel tank is the best part of a kilometer from the office where the dvr is installed, and there is a hill and plenty of trees in the way aswell so no direct line of sight. I brought a wireless sender and reciever kit through ebay direct from china that claims up to 2km range with direct line of sight. I also brought a couple of Yagi high gain aerials from another seller (again direct from china) in order to maximise the range of the system. After installing the camera and transmitter I found that the signal wouldnt reach the office with a stable image but would reach a large shed approximately 150mtrs away, as I had already run cat5e cables to the shed for other cameras already in operation I decided to mount the reciever here. I then put a balun on the output of the reciever and used an unused pair from one of the existing cat5e cable to the office where I put another balun on the cable. When I watch the picture on my handheld test monitor (for use in setting up/focusing cameras etc) I get a stable image, theres a little interference (white horizontal lines) but the image is acceptable. But when I put the balun onto the back of the dvr and look at the image on the main monitor it either reads no signal or a picture that is so poor and distorted you barely tell what it is. Obviously there has been alot of install time and cost involved already so i'm not looking for a new approach (though any recomendations on how I should do it in future instead w