Security Installer Community

Pir's For Conservatory

Hi I'm a complete novice looking for advice. I'm changing my conservatory into an office. I want to put a PIR into the room & thought about using a dual tech (infra red & microwave) PIR. My Alarm guy who I've known for years is reluctant to advise me as he isn't very keen on PIR's in conservatories.The gradings from 1 to 3 confuses me a little bit. Also the range as I guess ideally I'd want something to only go as far as the windows & not through. What I've read so far on dual tech PIR's is that they are infra red & microwave, so with 2 different types of triggers & needing both to alarm, making them more reliable. Plus they seem to be zone 2 & 3 so more harsh environment, so less prone to temp changes & other things like insect damage. The thing that worries me is the large range, typically 10mtrs min & if I should go for a grade 3 over a 2.

Wonder if anyone could advise me?

Thanks

Hi,

The 'grading' refers to the standard that the device conforms to in EN50131 standards etc-not how large a range it has or whatever.

A dualtec can go in a conservatory-the passive bit will not penetrate glass normally the microwave may, but the sensitivity of the mw can be adjusted once fitted-your alarm guy should know these things already!.

Thanks for all the advise guys.

So a DT such as a Honeywell DT 7550A would be a good choice. Or a optex fx50sq which appears to be just a IR quad unit?

I also have a plastic roof, so I guess anything with a glass shock sensor would be a bad idea?

Thanks

Vibration detectors are fine if specced / fitted corectly. probably not best on a roof due to nuisance tripping.

dt 7550a or 7435 are k band so will be better suited to a thin wall environment.