Security Installer Community

Motion Or Continuous Recording?

I installed a 4 channel system a few weeks ago in a small commercial property.......

It was a APC 4T2 triplex system. As a novice I found the 4T2 extremly user friendly to set up and was very suprised by the excellent picture quality.........

Anyway to cut a short story long, the customer phoned up and explained he had had an issue with a door-doorsalesman who got a little aggressive at which point the Police were called (but no involved any further)...On playback the DVR was set to motion detect and then to record for 30s however " the discussion" lasted all of two minutes and basically the DVR only caught the guy walking away.......

So what is common practice?? Set motion detect for long periods OR use continuous recording??

Would appreciate some advice here so I don't make the same mistake again....

I installed a 4 channel system a few weeks ago in a small commercial property.......

It was a APC 4T2 triplex system. As a novice I found the 4T2 extremly user friendly to set up and was very suprised by the excellent picture quality.........

Anyway to cut a short story long, the customer phoned up and explained he had had an issue with a door-doorsalesman who got a little aggressive at which point the Police were called (but no involved any further)...On playback the DVR was set to motion detect and then to record for 30s however " the discussion" lasted all of two minutes and basically the DVR only caught the guy walking away.......

So what is common practice?? Set motion detect for long periods OR use continuous recording??

Would appreciate some advice here so I don't make the same mistake again....

Interested to know why the system didn't pick up the visitor walking up to the property

Interested to know why the system didn't pick up the visitor walking up to the property