Security Installer Community

Optima Xm Maintenance And Repair

Guest Guest_Suzanne_*

Guest Guest_Suzanne_*

Hi there,

Have been looking at your site as a guest, and am very impressed with your knowledge on all things 'alarms', and wondered if any of you could send some of your good advice my way

I'm no expert myself, so I'll explain my probel in as simple terms as possible.

We have had an Optima XM alarm for about 10 years now, and I'm ashamed to admit it has only ever been serviced once. We have never experienced any problems with it until yesterday.

Because of a burnt out cable located between mine and next doors property, we lost electricity for 9 hours yesterday.

During this time the alarm just had the green light on (so I assumed it was still powered up, but on the battery), no other lights were present.

The electricity company managed to get the power back on at 12 midnight last night, but before the power came through fully there were surges (I assume whilst it was powering up fully to reach all the houses affected). Every time there was a surge, the alarm outside would go off, and then stop when the surge was completed.

By the time the electricity was back on fully, the alarm did not start ringing but the display pannel had all the led indicators lit.

I have tried all the buttons (including the number keypad) and it all seems to be dead. When I switch the mains electricity off, the main power light on the keypad does go off, but all the other lights stay on.

I'm not sure what has happened,but I am keen to get it sorted. The alarm shop we bought the alarm from has since been knocked down, and I'm unsure whether there is anything I can do to resolve, or if there was anyone in the Manchester area you could recomend who could sort this for me??

Hope somebody can advise

Thanks Suzanne :)

The old Optimas are notorious for locking up after a power outage.