Security Installer Community

New Alarm required + computer connection + dialler

Guest hofmeister

Guest hofmeister

I have an //.National Installer.// Galaxy 8 which works fine - except the amount of money that they want from me to buy it from them - £650!!!

so, as i work in IT and can build computer systems i would guess? it can't be too difficult to replace the Galaxy8 with another panel?

i would leave the existing PIR's and bell box as is.

I'd like the new system to be setup via a computer - rather than trying to setup zones on a key panel.

would also like it connected to a computer/home network for logs/reports.

also want it to txt me when the alarm is set/unset/goes off

don't want the cheapest B&Q special or similar so am prepared to pay for a good solution.

any suggestions?

Texecom Premier 24 with COM2400(for texting) and a USBCOM lead(for connecting to computer) and a copy of Wintex Software, you will need to change the end of line resistors in all the PIRS/contacts but they come with the panel.

The opinions I express are mine and are usually correct!

(Except when I'm wrong)(which I'm not)

I have an //.National Installer.// Galaxy 8 which works fine - except the amount of money that they want from me to buy it from them - £650!!!

so, as i work in IT and can build computer systems i would guess? it can't be too difficult to replace the Galaxy8 with another panel?

I'd like the new system to be setup via a computer - rather than trying to setup zones on a key panel.

don't want the cheapest B&Q special or similar so am prepared to pay for a good solution.

any suggestions?

once the contract has expired, //.National Installer.// will want ALL their equipment back, not just the panel.

That includes, keypad, panel, sounders, bell boxes, panic buttons and pirs.

Regards

Bellman

Service Engineer and all round nice bloke :-)

The views above are mine and NOT those of my employer.