Security Installer Community

Adding remote access to CCTV system

Guest gewens

Guest gewens

HI Guys

I have been reading the forums for nearly two years now and have found it very usefull so thanks for all the info so far.

I work in retail managment and have installed many covert CCTV systems to catch theiving staff.

I now have another shop and need to monitor some of my cameras remotely from home.

I would only need to view 4 cameras and want to check that i will be doing this the correct way so this is what i am thinking of doing:

Converting an old PC into a DVR,

Puting a T-Piece onto the BNC cable coming from the camera and then taking a feed for the multiplexer and a feed for the DVR,

Connecting the DVR to a phone line and viewing remotely.

Also where is the best place to buy a decent DVR card, not one of these cheap far east cards from ebay.

Is the above the correct way of going about it, any help would be appreciated, and keep up the good work guys.

Thanks in advance

Glenn

Forget the PC mate.

Just buy a DVR with buit in CDRW and dial up facility. It would be a lot more reliable than a PC based system.

Wot type of connectoin are you going to use , standard dial up 56k??

Alos wot make and model of multiplexer do you have, u may allready have the function to view remotley .

chris

Trade Member

As Mr Kingswood said "Dont forget the 6 P's when installing.....Proper Preperation Prevents P*** Poor Performance!!!"

John Kingswood(alais Nobby), Paul Earl Ltd 1985-2006

Avoid the T-piece, it will give you a double termination.

Why have you got a mux, is it a single way DVR?

Get a new 4 way DVR with lan ability and connect that via your router and phone line, ideally broadband for live viewing.

As for building your own using an old pc, big mistake in my opinion, buy something that will do the job instead of messing about. your probably gonna have enough problems networking a DVR as it is. Besides an old pc may not be up to it.