Security Installer Community

CCTV Signal

Lectrician

OK, i am new to CCTV really, I have installed some systems supplied by the wholesaler, but have a question.

What type of signal does the standard CCTV give via the BNC connector?? Can this be conected to a standard TV via the composite input??

How do you calculate possible volt drop on the 12vDC feed to cameras?? and what cable to poeple regularly use to feed them (I have seen flex, alarm cables 'doubled' up, and speaker cabel.)

Email : martin@askthetrades.co.uk

What type of signal does the standard CCTV give via the BNC connector??  Can this be conected to a standard TV via the composite input??

1Volt P-P composite video which indeed can be connected to a standard video input.

How do you calculate possible volt drop on the 12vDC feed to cameras??  and what cable to poeple regularly use to feed them (I have seen flex, alarm cables 'doubled' up, and speaker cabel.)

33979[/snapback]

I usually use .5mm round twin flex up to 100 meters without problems.

What type of signal does the standard CCTV give via the BNC connector?? Can this be conected to a standard TV via the composite input??

Any cctv camera will not connect direct to a tv ariel in, you either need a modulator to turn it into a tv type signal (VHF i believe) so you can find it with the tuner. Or you can connect it via AV leads and then pick it up as an AV channel, likewise with a BNC/Scart connector. Hope that makes more sense?

As for power cable, i prefer to use .75mm 3 core flex, mainly because i get it for free basically. However you can use whatever cable you like as i am sure you know, the normal is the type cables you have already mentioned. As for calculating voltage drop, its been like 25 years since i had to that so being honest, you connect the power and meter it at the other end :whistle:

I find 12vdc/24vac down a .75mm flex goes a long long way, 200mtrs is no problem.