Security Installer Community

LG GDK-16 KSU

Service Engineer

Just got me an LG GDK-16 KSU with 2x LKD-30D Key telephone units.

The Programming Instructions make the unit look super complicated to set up.

Might have a go at fitting it next weekend :)

How is this unit rated for a small home phone exchange...?

Dave Partridge (Romec Service Engineer)

Excellent peice of kit.... I love all LG gear! Although you do need to have a an SLT interface for the fax machine and other SLT devices but it has 2 built in.

Personally my favourite is the GSX 816/1832, very stable bits of gear but bloody bulky. The new style phones for the GDK gear are nice.

For a home its seriose overkill as im sure you only have one line, and this can support 4 analogue lines or 4 ISDN chanels (I think) and numerous extensions.

I am a repair engineer in an authorised LG repair centre where we deal with all the LG telecom products, GSX, GDK, and the new LDK systems, I find the systems very reliable and easy to configure (complicated if you are new to the systems) we mostly get faults where systems get damaged by lightning but they are mostly repairable after that as LG have designed the line cards well (no one can avoid an act of god!), the products are normally damaged by the customers! (Must be a lot of bad phone calls! Then they take it out on the phone! or in LG terms

David Avery.

My Webpage

Excellent peice of kit.... I love all LG gear! Although you do need to have a an SLT interface for the fax machine and other SLT devices but it has 2 built in.

Personally my favourite is the GSX 816/1832, very stable bits of gear but bloody bulky. The new style phones for the GDK gear are nice.

For a home its seriose overkill as im sure you only have one line, and this can support 4 analogue lines or 4 ISDN chanels (I think) and numerous extensions.

18721[/snapback]