Security Installer Community

Scantronic 8440 ,not Restoring

FireComm

Hello ,Being a fire alarm engineer my knowledge of digicoms is a bit limited but Ive never had any problems with them until now.

The company i work for has taken over 50 or so sites for fire alarm maintenance and as part of that we are changing the digicoms (scantronic 8440) to a different central station, uk monitoring from east midlands.I should state that the digis all work ok but the chips I have been sent don't seem to work correctly,they all dial ok but theres no handshaking going on and the digis just dial away ten times(i assume this is the default) before it gives up and resets.The central station receive all the signals but say they are getting no restores?My office sent a replacement chip but still the same, the central station say that they do not acknowledge alarm signals.its up to me? bit weird and doesn't sound right to me.point is the old chip works ,the new one doesn't and Im guessing that someone has programmed it wrong or we have requested the wrong info on the chip,anyone with any ideas would be most appreciated.

A digi will dial the phone number, then you should hear the number ring. CS should answer the call after a few rings and give the handshake. The digi should send all the info over, kiss off and hang up.

Do you not get a "Sorry the number you have dialed is not recognised" message? Can you call an outside line without pre-fixing with a 9 or 1? Have you tried dialing the ARC reciever to see if you get a handshake tone?

Sounds like a chip issue to me, esp if they are'nt recieving restores. If you have a Scanny chip blower, go into the programming and check that channel 1 is setup for restore reporting.

It could also be a problem with the line. See if you can find out if there is call routing enabled on the line. It can wreak havock with digis sometimes.

Trade Member