Security Installer Community

Security Issue

Guest reaper30

Guest reaper30

Hi all, got a bit of a problem doing my head in at the moment.

I have searched on here for an answer but couldn't find anything.

Being the good son I am when the folks said that the alarm keypad was playing up, I purchased a new one as its just a like for like replacement.

I have had very little experience with alarms and to be fair, so, I am interested in this problem.

Once changed, the keypad is fine, the master code allows me through all the menu settings, but, I need to do an engineers reset on the system as the keypad has been tampered with.

Now, the master code I have, gets me to the master reset menu, and on entering the code, the system does not accept it (by the way, each time you do this, the system generates a random 4 digit number for security purposes).

This is making me think that the guy who installed it all those years ago (before I became a spark) has a seperate engineers code.

I have tried to contact him, but as expected, there is no response. I am thinking, is there a battery backup for the memory in the system? If I power down both mains and battery the system still retains all info/codes etc so that makes me think this.

So I am thinking I am going to have to find this battery, power it down and re-set the system back up.

Any advice? I am sure there must be an easier way, but I cannot see it at the moment.

Or does anyone know any links for security forum/sites I might find an answer?

regards

reaper

I would think the only way you will be able to get control over it is by calling a company out to reset it for you.

You won't get the instructions here though.

unforunately you are going to have to swallow your pride and call out an expert ie an alarm engineer.

put simply you have performed an operation that is normally done by the installaltion company and that means the engineer code will need inputting.