Security Installer Community

Confused over cheap dvr,s and cams? Advice Please

jizzer

Hello,

I came across this site when looking for cctv gear.....really informative especially as most of the guys are in the trade

I am an industrial control and instrument electrician by trade never had anything to do with cctv but i want to install a system to my home.

Have looked around the net for gear and info, a little confusing to say the least BUT this site may be where i get good honest knowledgable advice.

Here goes this is what I have picked up for my self please advise

My requirements

1.Was going to go down the pci card in the pc (GEOVISION) route

but the number of times pc's crash thought maybe not reliable TRUE or not?

2.Decided on DVR ...that many on market mainly taiwanese/chinese etc REALLY need advice on this one

I need a 4 Channel able to have motion detection the type you can select on screen not with seperate sensors

Need to be able to inject feed in domestic TV distribution (I assume via a modulator)

Need to view via PC and back up via PC can I do this with a LAN capable DVR

Please suggest DVR's around £250 ... big headache for me was looking at LJD lite till i read this forum bid on an avermedia on e bay (mainly cos could connect straight to pc monitor and had usb)

looked at dedicated micros ...i Guess thet are the business the money they are ?

3.Cameras £125 (ish)

Want good quality but reasonable price

Day/Night cam ccd better than

cmos....Is that true?

10 to 15 M range at night

Are the better day night cams the one that have a mechanical filter that changes at night...???

good resolution I am of the opinion if I am going to fit cams I want a good clear picture not like some of the footage on crimewatch who their own mother would'nt recognize.

Do not want a trditional housing too big but then again not covert

Coax????? RG59 seems to be spec what benefits over CT100 standard satallite co.ax