Security Installer Community

Bell Box Module Wiring Interface Help

paulwike

Hi,

Im a newbie to this site.  I have an old Scantronic 9200 - well 9210 alarm and remote keypad (please dont laugh i loved the 80's),  after a lot of reseting i have managed to get it all working with the internal speaker.   I want to create a mini bell box module circuit which will flick a relay when the alarm is triggered , but to do this i need to understand the interface from the control panel and i'm clutching at straws atm - any help is appreciated ;-0

I have the following from the alarm control box :

Pin 1 - TRIG + / Hold + (constant + power supply  ??????)

Pin 2 - TRIG - /  -VE RINGING

Pin 3 - 0v  / Hold - (constant - power supply ????)

Pin 4 - TR /  -VE Tamper return.

Im assuming that i can user P1 and P3 as a power supply (regardless of the alarm being triggered or not).

what isnt clear is how:

• I put together the tamper circuit (I'm guessing P4 is involved)
  • Detect if the alarm has been triggered which I'm guessing will need to involve P2 ?

Im probably over complicating things but any help is appreciated .

Paul.

Im a bit lost as to what you're trying to do, are you just trying to connect a modern external siren?

Pin 4 is just looking for 0v through a tamper switch etc... to show all is ok.

1 and 3 are just constant power as you say, 2 goes Neg in an alarm situation

Hope this helps!

So, I've decided to take my work back underground.... to stop it falling into the wrong hands

Hi,  Thanks for the reply and your help.   Yes I want to use a relay so I can connect in a strobe and possibly switch on / off some other things....

Pin 2 - so this will be 0v when the alarm is triggered ?   does that mean it will be positive (12v) when the alarm hasn't been triggered ?

Paul.

Pin 1 is 12v

Pin 2 will switch to 0v when alarm triggers

So relay between them Will switch , you need a diode on that relay I think

Providing what you said above is correct