Security Installer Community

System recommendations

Guest DRW

Hi,

Newbie here, so be gentle. We're in the process of renovating a 200-year-old house, including complete rewiring. Naturally we'll need a decent security system, and we're currently deciding between a pro job and something we can do ourselves.

Can any of you guys can recommend a make of system and suitable supplier? It's a four-bedroom house in North Lincs. We were going to go with a control panel in the attic plus keypads at the front and back doors. But then I discovered this site...

So if we go with a pretty standard set-up, what's desirable for future expansion? Is it worth adding stuff like fire and smoke detectors? I've read about voice diallers that will phone my mobile if the alarm is sounded

Keypads at all entry points, internal speakers at all entry points, contacts on all doors, 1 PIR per downstairs room. Upstairs PIR on landing, possibly PIR in main bedroom (protect the wifes jewellery). Also if any bedrooms have flat roofs/conservatories below their windows PIR in them as well.

You could go for shock sensors on windows but most people dont.

Always advisable to put at least one smoke detector per floor.

Control panel location, somewhere in the centre of the house if possible keeps cable runs easier. Understairs cupboard, airing cupboard etc. Run a phone line to the panel and it gives you the option of dialler etc.

Live bell front of house, Live or Dummy at rear.

Hope this helps.

PS Use 8 core alarm cable for everything and use a panel with enough zones to wire 1 detector per zone.

Glenn

The opinions I express are mine and are usually correct!

(Except when I'm wrong)(which I'm not)

Thanks for your answers, guys. Very useful.