Security Installer Community

Double Pole Contact Grade 2?

I have been told that if you use a standard G1 flush contact 5 terminal type, you know the ones and then make it EOL ie: connecting the resistors on the contact, the way we used to do it years ago omn Galaxy systems this would then make it a grade 2 contact?

I disagree as the contact says its a grade 1 product only, but my MANAGER yes you read right says only if this was connected using double pole.

I have said that a system can be grade 2 on double pole wiring, but am slighlty confused that i can wire this contact double pole but the contact would still be a grade 1 product and therefore system. I have done some web serching and can only assume that a G2 flush contact is "potted".

I know that this probably a simple question but if someone can tell me that works on security more than myself as i am mainly a fire engineer but have beeen asked to also do security it would be a great help.

Thanks in advance.

butki55

Manufacturer certifies the Grade of the component not your managers pet idea.

i can see where he got lost though, eg. you fit a gardtec eurosec cp8l G2 panel, it is stated to be G2, yet if you fit anything less then a 7amp battery it doesn't make the grade 2.

So there is still alot of confusion out there.

Guest RJBsec
i can see where he got lost though, eg. you fit a gardtec eurosec cp8l G2 panel, it is stated to be G2, yet if you fit anything less then a 7amp battery it doesn't make the grade 2.

So there is still alot of confusion out there.

Battery size doesn't change the grade of the panel, however battery capacity may affect compliance of the system within the grade specified (varies with AC fail to ARC).

Battery size doesn't change the grade of the panel, however battery capacity may affect compliance of the system within the grade specified (varies with AC fail to ARC).

well..............................yes.