Security Installer Community

**help** New House With //.large National Installer.// Alarm **

:( Hi All, i am totally new to this type of thing & know absolutely nothing about alarm systems so I hope someone can help.?

We moved into our new house a year or so ago & it has an //.Large National Installer.// alarm system. the previous owners said that they never used it!! One day, about 6 months after we moved in there was a power cut or surge & the alarm went off?? & we panicked as there were no instructions at all!

I called //.Large National Installer.// & they had no details for our address but said that the contract was cancelled a while ago. they did want to charge me for someone to come out & sort it....to cut a long story short I was given a code to punch in then press no:9 then the left arrow then escape & telecomm failure came up. the chap i spoke to said just leave it on this & dont use it.

Now today we had another power surge and the alarm activated itself again, i puched in the same instructions i had before & de-activated it.

I'm not interested in re-activating the alarm contract & we don't use the alarm as we have 2 cats!

My question i suppose is how do I & should i totally de-activate it? I can find no prod codes or serial numbers on anything the control panel is just that. The only other thing i have found that maybe related to it is a metal box upstairs in one of the built in wardrobes with lots of wires going ito it (vague i know)!?!

Told you I had no clue about this sort of thing! What should i do?

thanks in advance

r2oo

My advice - find a local alarm installer to de-commision your alarm system.

Some-one on here may volunteer their services at a competive rate but otherwise consult the local papaers or yellow pages.

iwould,nt try messing tyourself as you will more damage then good.

paul

THE BLACK KNIGHT

"Any comments / opinions posted are my opinion only and do not represent those of my employer or Company."