Security Installer Community

Ip Problem

Alarm Co

hi guys

im an alarm installer and do a phew cctv jobs etc

but a customer has askd about veiwing his cameras from another location i.e over the net

i aint got a clue can anyone advise me what where when who,,,

do i conect the dvr to a pc via the rs socket then conect to that computer via ip adress or is it easyer to just buy ip camera and conect to router

please help

one of those things i would to love to know for the future

cheers

Should be what looks like (well what is) a network socket on the back (looks like a larger version of a phone socket) type socket, do you have this?

If so like said above you will need a router and your customer will need adsl connection with public static ip address at the site where the dvr is. If the dvr is networkable there will be a menu for the ip settings. You need to find the port the dvdr is plugged into on the router.... depends what router your using they all vary but lets say you plug into number 1 on the router and it's something like 192.168.2.1 then you'll need to put this into the dvr's ip address. Then you'll need the gateway and subnet mask put them into the dvr. Router setup is dependant on which router you use, best to find one you like and stick with it, program the baud rate of the dvr into the port settings that your dvr is on etc. You'll need to set the public static ip into the router and setup something called port forwarding which basically means when you connect via the internet to the router it knows that you want it to open the port the dvr is connected to.

Probabally best to see if the dvr has a network socket and then take it from there, if it hasn't there are bits of kit that will let you view whats going on without the dvr having a newtwork socket, but we'll go down that road later,

so does the dvr have a network socket?

what router do they have on site if fitted?

System Q do a course on this type of thing might be worth looking into it.