Security Installer Community

What's the worst installation you've seen

Guest Deryck Tintagel

Guest Deryck Tintagel

I am not a professional installer but I like to think that I know what I am looking at ...

A relative bought a house which came with an alarm system. One evening they went out and came back about four hours later and the alarm was sounding. A neighbour complained to them that it had been sounding since just after they left the house.

I popped round to have a look and this is what I found:

Panel lid held on with insulating tape as the installer had tried to use a self-tapping security screw when a set screw should have been used causing it to strip the nut in the case.

Panel mains supply taken via a 13A plug and an extension lead to a socket in the hall.

Bell cut-off timer link had not been cut

Cabling was CW1308 telephone cable

Tamper wire twisted together within a detector and not s sign of solder or insulation

Detector tamper switch springs missing

All this from a supossed professional installer - that's why I fit my own!

Anything worse than this?

Deryck,

Sounds like either the installer from hell, or someone's tried to save a buck and do it themselves. Needless to say I hope you either repaired the dodgy install or got a proffessional company to come and repair it!

Dale

Guest Deryck Tintagel

Definitely an installer from Hell - one of the local outfits fitting a full system for less than £200. I also saw another system installed by the same company - that wasn't full BS compliance but was better. The company has since been taken over by a more reputable installer and closed down

I made good what I could but my relative moved before giving me the go ahead to replace the system - defintely not worth spendin time doing to many repairs.