Security Installer Community

Horror in the US

Guest tiggerkev

Guest tiggerkev

Hello All,

just a word of advice if any one is thinking of emigrating to the USA, dont go into the Security Industry.

I moved here 5 years ago, after working in the Industry in England, I thought the technology would be more advanced ( wrong ).

I worked service for the company I joined here and found out there is no requirement for periodic maintenance.Wireless systems are very popular ( quick and easy to install ) but a nightmare for a service tech. The contacts were put on using double sided tape, the batteries in them quickly wore out. A lot of houses are pre wired at the start of the building process, hence when it comes time to install most of the wires are damaged.

The straw that broke the camels back though was I had to go to an Antique warehouse, they were having problems. Turns out not enough cable had been run for the amount of zones they had. So being a good tech I spent all afternoon there fixing it. I went into work next morning feeling pleased with my self only to be asked where the customers cheque was for the work I had done. After explaining that it was our fault and we were open to liability if the lost some of the expensive stock, the question came again where was the cheque at which point I politely told them what to do with the job.

I now work on scanners at airports.

I also gather tampers arent used at all over there nor are external bells, seems we over here maybe well ahead of the US market in technology terms

Mark Hawks

Ex BT Openreach Field Service

Now Self employed telecom and data engineer  www.mphtelecom.co.uk 

Also back doing sub contract work in the security industry.

Retained firefighter Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue

Guest Cerberus NI