Security Installer Community

Wrie

Guest jamesho

Guest jamesho

I'm in the process of buying a house and I want to install an alarm. I'm still looking what I need as I'm new to alarms.

However, there is one question that I want to ask now. Can I use cat5 cable for the wriring? I'm kitting out the house with data and voice in all the rooms therefore I will be using alot of cat5. I just thought I could use this as I could buy in bulk and get it all cheaper.

What are peoples thoughts.

cheers

James

:lol:

There has been few conversations about this..

CAT5 is not suitable for alarm installations because its mechanical structure isn't planned for alarm cabling.

Electrically it would be OK, if it wouldn't be against UK reg's..

:!: Do not in any case use anything else than UK-type alarm cable within UK.. :!:

(for alarm installations..)

As this alarm is being installed by a non-installer person (badly worded i know), then he can use a peice of string to wire it all up if he wants - why don't you call an alarm co mate or ask someone on here to come and do a survey for you?? You can then run the cables in accordance with the positioning given to you by professionals and then they can connect and commission afterwards??

Guest jamesho
As this alarm is being installed by a non-installer person (badly worded i know), then he can use a peice of string to wire it all up if he wants - why don't you call an alarm co mate or ask someone on here to come and do a survey for you?? You can then run the cables in accordance with the positioning given to you by professionals and then they can connect and commission afterwards??

31965[/snapback]

Thanks for the info guys.

OK will not use cat5, it was just and ideas, just firing from the hip.

Cat5 is 8 core and I just thought it may be suitable.