Security Installer Community

everyman and his dog

Paul Giles

:realmad:

Just browsing through the latest issue of security installer and they are really pushing the alarms as a way for sparkies to make a few extra quid.

More and more people on this forum are fitting systems by themselves (diyers).

It is getting stupid, no wonder people dont take any notice of alarms anymore.

I feel that the alarm industry has lost all respect with such examples of //.National Installer.// boxes being sold by anyone and electricians being actively pushed into fitting alarms.

I wonder how long it would take for pro elec to start moaning if PSI started a 'wire a ring circuit' step by step every month?

Its about time we had regulation and by that i mean the inspectorates that we all pay large sums of money to to get off their asses and start promoting quality and approved companies in the press and on TV.

I am a sparks by trade and am not tarring all sparkies with the same brush but when i was just an electrician my insurance was sub £200, now i am paying at least a £1000 more than that, let alone having to provide 24-hr cover and the purchase of certificates etc.

The inspectorates are very guilty of sitting back and letting us the installers cope with new procedures and requirements as well as educating the end user just why they should chose an approved firm and not someone else or simple buy a system off the shelf.

I know we still have URN's under our belt but for how long? We all know the industrial and commercial market is becoming saturated and people are starting to look at the domestic market but just how many people actually want the systems?

It is all to common to hear the sayings that no one takes any notice of them and the police never turn up anyway!

This forum shows the true passion of quality installers and its about time we stood up to the NSI and SSAIB to enforce some rules in the industry.