Security Installer Community

Need Some Advice On Esp Infinite

mushy408

Hello! I came across this forum after looking for the user manual for the ESP Infinite alarm system installed at my home. I'm an experienced electronics engineer, and thought I'd set myself a challenge and try to sort my alarm system out.

I've lived here 2 years now, private rented from a landlord. Before we even agreed to move in, I made a comment about the alarm system...

The landlord said he didn't know the user code but would contact the previous tenant & see if they remember it. This was over 2 years ago and I've never heard nothing of it. To be honest I think he's washed his hands on it even though HE OWNS the property (ex-council).

Anyways, I haven't been too bothered about the alarm until recently. I had my motorcycle stolen, then a few days later someone try forcing the patio doors with a spade (from my shed) but me and Mr. Baseball bat were pretty quick down the stairs and I caught the d**khead as he ran past the side door. As usual, the police did ABSOLUTLEY NOTHING other than give me a leaflet (to wipe my **** on?) while I got left with the cost of the excess for my bike & 2 patio doors that would no longer close & lock properly. ALL of it came out of my pocket, although the landlord eventually stumped up for the doors.

I'm planning a holiday soon so would like the system running something like while me and my partner are away. I understand I can have a company 'Adopt' my system for maintenance etc for a fee, but would prefer to do this myself as I don't have £££ to throw around (xmas & holiday) and the system is only been installed 5-6 years (according to landlord)

About 3-4 days before Xmas, I was repainting the bathroom door which has a wireless mag sensor installed. I thought I'd remove the sensor to finish the painting - BAD IDEA!!!