Security Installer Community

Company Vans / Cars

ViperMK2

What do you have as a company Van or Car?

I would imagine most installers will have Vans and Service engineers would ideally like to have cars or estates.

Being a service Engineer, I don't see the need to have a van as the amount of stock I carry only warrants a small storage compartment. Obviously I need to carry ladders and steps but I find that having to climb the van to release the ladders is tedious at best.

I know in the past, cars and estates have been taxed more but now the tax has been reduced for smaller CC cars over larger CC vans. This I know as some of my previous work colleagues have different vehicles, one with an Astra Estate (1300CDTI) which has less tax than and Astra Van(1700CDTI) simply because the estate produces less emissions than the van.

Given the choice, which would you have? And would you use it more (if it was the estate) for private mileage.

Tax wise, I was just given the tax code of 222L as opposed to the standard 522L and seeing as I only used the van sporadically (just because i could), told the tax office over the phone, that i would no longer use it for private use. they simply said to me, "No problem, we will change it back to 522L"

rant time

The van I have is a Nissan Kubistar, not bad driving if your a freak, you need to have short legs and short arms to drive it comfortably. You cant even wedge your knee under the steering wheel to drive while you eat gripetl1.gif

Oh, how I long to get back to driving a good old Astra estate 1043420644hq4.gif

Reading it back now it all looks a bit random but I'm sure you'll get the drift.

As the days go by, we face the increasing inevitability that we are alone in a godless, uninhabited, hostile and meaningless universe. Still, you've got to laugh, haven't you?