Security Installer Community

Gardtec 500 Series Newby Question

nodz

I have a Gardtec 500 Series with a remote next to my front door. This week, I have had electricians rewiring my kitchen, and noticed that the Bell box was ringing. Should this happen just by tripping the consumer unit?

Furthermore, after condemning my kitchen ring, they fitted a new consumer unit, but must have wired the alarm into the lighting circuit. Upon tripping the lighting fuse, the bell box began to ring again. Is there no way that I can fit a new kitchen light without the alarm going off?

PS I have a master code which allows me to test, and remove zones etc.

PPS The screen when unset cycles through incomprehensible LED flashes and does not stick to Un. It doesnt seem to affect operation - do I need to fix this?

PPS The screen when unset cycles through incomprehensible LED flashes and does not stick to Un. It doesnt seem to affect operation - do I need to fix this?

This is a comon fault on non maintained 580's - basically your control panel PCB needs replacing.

I would advise you to contact a local SSAIB or NSI approved installer and have them take over and repair the system.

This is a comon fault on non maintained 580's - basically your control panel PCB needs replacing.
It is a common fault, but not usually detrimental to the operation of the alarm system. Yes getting the main pcb replaced is the only cure to your incomprehensible LED flashes but unless the alternating display bothers you then i'd not bother doing this.
Upon tripping the lighting fuse, the bell box began to ring again. Is there no way that I can fit a new kitchen light without the alarm going off?

Getting the system serviced and a new backup battery fitted is a good idea. The backup battery should maintain power to your alarm system whilst the mains are off for a period of 8 hours plus, so long as your system was origionaly installed to standards.

Dave Partridge (Romec Service Engineer)