Security Installer Community

Yellow Pages

Hi Guys,

I need your vast wealth of knowledge. I have been in the security industy for the last sixteen years have recently left the a large national company A*T. I have alway dreamed of owning my own business so I thought why not and started to set up a company after about 1 year of research. In the end I decided to buy a local company when the guy wanted to retire so I've been running it now for about 2 months. I'm very busy at the moment so all is well. I want to grow the company so I'm in the process of my NSI application. At the moment I get my work from word of mouth and my contacts I have built up over the years. I looking now at advertising and was wondering if Yellow pages or YELL.com work. The price is not that bad but does it work? Sorry the post is quite long winded but I thought it would add some background to the post. Please can you give some feedback of your experiences or alternative forms of advertising.

cheers

Flyingboy

Yellow pages no, never gonna advertise in there again.

Yell.com get a few leads off it and will stick with it. It does not cost alot but thought they were out of order this year adding quite a few more small adverts of other companies from just out of our area after we had paid a premium to be on the first page.

Adi

I really can't be ar**** with it anymore.

I use yellow pages and during my first year, got a 700% return on a small ad, but what i did find was that the customers were a little bit more upmarket (firemen, policemen and managers etc) as for yell.com. got a two year initial deal. they told me i had 0ver 1 thousand hits on my advert. from that only 4 people telephoned and i got 3 jobs (all office workers), 1st year return about 300%. my advice would be, if you going to take the risk, monitor it carefully. Ps from the 700% return i have had a further 14 leads by word of mouth :)