Security Installer Community

Attic Plug Socket

Guest ProjectX

Guest ProjectX

I've just installed my projector in bedroom, ran all my cables (10m) up the pole and across the attic and back down in my room to my desired location for input. As I have installed projectors for a living I know that normal practise is to have the sparkies install a single socket in the attic/ceiling void so the manafacturers 2m power cable can be used... In the rush to get my projector going I made a 10m lead of 3 core and stuck an IEC on one end and plug the other which runs the same way with the input/video cables. Im now thinking this is a **** idea, the projector is rated 3A. I have started noticing slight occasional interference (wavy lines) through certain inputs. I believe this to be related to my power cable. So I start looking around the house for a suitable socket to spur off with a relatively short and easy run up to the attic. Having found a socket in back bedroom I took up a floorboard to discover a 30A junction box already in the ring next to my intended socket with a spur. Following the wire I find its connected to a fused switch which then connects to boiler (immersion) I aint no plumber but I do know this is only switched on once in a blue moon because there's usually plenty of hot water. Getting to the point, should I steer clear of the switch? Can I still spur off the double socket itself, with the junction box being so close in the ring? There is another double socket at the other side of the room, to spur off this would mean ripping virtually all the floorboards up and would make my twin & earth cable run to the attic roughly 15-20m, as appose to 10m off the other. Is this length of great importance? Could I put another 30A junction box in the ring for spur in between the two sockets? (i.e socket--junction box(spur)--socket--junction box(spur to immersion) There are roughly 10 double sockets in the ring over 5 bedrooms and landing, so I believe it to be relatively