Security Installer Community

whats the best system ?

Guest Mickie D

Guest Mickie D

hello i am mickie i am putting an alarm system in for my uncle and we would like the best wired system on the market :)

i am a electrician but also hold a computer networking MCP and also own a busy cable and satellite forum.... and have been re-wireing houses for over 3 years and installing networks for maybe 5 years and have my own business (nothing to do with electrics or cable lol). I take pride in all work i carry out and believe the right way is the best way, i think back in the past i may have installed 4 alarm systems i remember the last one was a accenta and i was not to impressed with the PIRS (motion detectors) and mounting them (this was maybe 1 year ago and i have not had a call out so it must still be fine).

i would like the best system the price is no matter and maybe some tips as i know this is more your section guys.

also i would like to add pictures of my install when i start after christmas can i post them here ?

Well, the Accenta is a panel and has nothing to do with PIRs, other than the fact that they're connected. If you liked the panel, use different detectors.

As for the best available, go for a Galaxy, but if you've only possibly ever fitted 4 alarms the Galaxy is a big jump with a steep learning curve.

If you do really want the best available then you'd be better of getting someone else in to fit a complete system.

Guest Mickie D
Some panels are just bringing in IP modules, namely Texecom, allowing you to control the system via a network although not installed any yet as it really is just coming out as we speak.

35421[/snapback]

very interesting i would be interested in this but i could imagine the headache from him if the PC fooks up the alarm system or he does something lol

but the rule of thumb is the cheaper the nastier

35421[/snapback]