Security Installer Community

Help - split load CU RCD tripping

Guest rafal

Just installed my DSC 832 and I have very strange electric problem.

The panel is connected to its own 6A mcb in the non RCD section

of the split load /one section with an isolator switch, other with an RCD/

consumer unit. As soon the mcb is switched on the RCD section trips out!!!!

So far I have found the following:

- works ok with the RCD section off

- it trips with the 832 transformer connected /panel disconnected/

- it trips with the earth wire disconnected

- tried different wire from the CU to the transformer

If you look in the consumer unit you'll see there are 2 neutral bars. You've connected the neutral of the alarm supply to the wrong bar.

35222[/snapback]

Whoohaaa, result! It is bloody working!

Thank you, thank you, and thank you!!!!

You have just saved my sanity. I feel a bit like a plonker.

But if you do not know, you do not know.

After all I am an electronics engineer not an electrician.

But have no fear, I

No probs, I've seen people do this many times over the years!

I once worked with a firm that had this subby on a job who changed a consumer unit and did this. By the time he'd finished he'd condemned half the appliances in the house and even meggered a couple of lightbulbs for earth faults before someone else pointed out the fault in the CU!

No probs, I've seen people do this many times over the years

35250[/snapback]

Lurch you can fix mine now (that was easy). I have a TT system with an RCD MCB DB The intermittent tripping is a pain in the but. ive used insulation tester, issolated load the lot i recken som ferkin mouse is lickin the cable when im not there. Its been behavin itself for about a month and went again so shove it out with the RCD stuff the regs i want a constant supply.

Jef

Customers!

Tricky one, hard to do a lot from here!

I'm a bit pushed for tiime at the mo but I'll try and give a more useful response later.