Security Installer Community

Altrnative To Geovision Cards

bobwells

Hi everyone

I'm absolutely new to all this and this will be my first setup.

Because I'm a PC engineer a friend of mine asked me to do a small business setup of five cameras.

She assumed (foolishly) that because I know Pc's that I would know all about this and I assumed (also foolishly)

That there was not much to it.

Anyway, I'm reading as much as I can on the net and trying to glean information and have decided to go the PC route

because I already have the machines.

Various peeps have said that Geovision cards are the best but they seem so expensive. Can you advise me on more

reasonably priced alternatives that come with good software?

Thanks in advance.

Bob

Bob you get what you pay for mate, hence the cost of geovision cards

Avermedia seem to have some new cards out that i've heard good reports of

good luck with your quest, if its a small basic install i would go for a standalone DVR and save yourself some time

Hi everyone

I'm absolutely new to all this and this will be my first setup.

Because I'm a PC engineer a friend of mine asked me to do a small business setup of five cameras.

She assumed (foolishly) that because I know Pc's that I would know all about this and I assumed (also foolishly)

That there was not much to it.

Anyway, I'm reading as much as I can on the net and trying to glean information and have decided to go the PC route

because I already have the machines.

Various peeps have said that Geovision cards are the best but they seem so expensive. Can you advise me on more

reasonably priced alternatives that come with good software?

Thanks in advance.

Bob

hi bob,

i have used geovision cards with absolutely no hassles, older cards needed pentuim chips (had sound issues), the newer ones will work with both pentium and amd.