Security Installer Community

Control Panels With Sms Notification

Terry

Hi everyone

As you can tell I am new here.

I stumbled across these forums whilst searching for answers on the Internet :question:

And I am so happy I did, as I think I came to the right place.

I am no professional, but seeking advice for fitting a new alarm system to replace the one I inherited with the house I bought 10 years ago.

I just wanted to be well informed before starting to shop arround for quotes.

My current alarm is working fine, but the reasons I want to replace it are:

1- I want to add another PIR and a Smoke detector (linked to the alarm) without running cables.

2- I would like to have a system with Proximity readers (using fobs) as it will be easier for my parents(they are no good with codes) to check on the house when we are away, and for our son to set/unset the system.

3- I want to receive a message telling me that my son is safe back home and when he leaves home

4- Have the option to monitor the system - in the future via ARC

I think the above facilities warrant, what I believe would be

Most of what you list can be accomplished by the Honeywell Galaxy G2-20, which as a hybrid panel has options for 12 wired zones and a further 8 wireless zones (or more if you reduce the number of wired zones) and has prox-keypads or an add-on external prox-reader.

It will send texts via the telephone line or if you require an expensive GSM module for GSM texting the G2-44 would be your panel.

It is programmed to send texts to up to 3 people and each can have either, 1) Alarm events only, 2) Alarm events & faults, or 3) All events.

If you don't want a user to receive a text just don't include them as one of the 3.

Text will normally say something like "House Alarm - Lounge - Alarm+" (an alarm event in the lounge) and same with "Alarm-" when the alarm is cancelled.