Security Installer Community

Skills Required

Hi All,

I would appreciate your views and thoughts on the following. I am currently in my last year of an Electronics & Computers Engineering Degree and it is getting to the stage where I need to apply for jobs, or at least start looking. I have a huge interest in security especially Intruder from no age and I am having thoughts about applying for jobs with a Multi-National Company and also a few local based companies. However I have no idea at what level I should be at in terms of security electronics knowledge, as job requirements are very general. What would you think a new employee should be able to do. What would you expect someone who is applying for a job as an engineer to possess in their knowledge base? How long do you think it would take to become proficient, so that you would be useful as a team member? I have done only a weeks professional work experience with a company when I attended school, but I did try and obtain a further 1 years industrial placement with a company last year as I had to complete a years working as part of my degree. I was unsuccessful as they said that they could not afford to take me on in this "financial climate". I did complete a year industrial experience within a Government agency as a Field I.T Services Engineer.

My experience in limited but I have installed CCTV, and intruder alarms i.e accord XPC, galaxy G2, 16+ etc and understand how systems work. I also understand all the principals in the like of the DD243 compliance and the latest IEE standards etc. I also am aware of the operation of Red care etc.