Security Installer Community

Optima XM 6 Extra Keypad

Guest johnahealey

Guest johnahealey

Hi,

I'm new to this game, so appologies if this seems a bit simple..........;)

I'm thinkimg about adding an existing keypad to my current Optima XM6 alarm. Currently

the alarm console is close to the back door of our new house which in turn means I have to enter

the house through the back door to get access to the console, and enter the code to disable the

alarm.

If possible I'd like an extra keypad next to the front door so I can enter the house through the

front door and punch in my security code to disable the alarm.

Alternatively re-programming the console so that I can enter through the front door, find my way

to the keypad (without setting off the alarm) would be ideal, and save me money!!!!

So, has anybody got any pointers or hints or been down this rocky road before and can

highlight any pitfalls which I should avoid.

Thanks in advance,

John

Hi ,

The XM6 cannot take a remote keypad.Also , the zones are fixed and not programmable.You will either have to get it replaced , get an engineer in to rewire it , or rewire it yourself.It may be as easy as swopping the wiring for your front and back doors.Do a walk test and make a list of all your zones / detectors, then it will be easier to work out.

:)

Guest johnahealey

Fastcar - thanks for the reply.

From looking around on this site it seems the Optima XM6 can only have one entry point so

presumably I can never get this to work. If entering through my front door I'd have to go

through 2 zones, the front door and the living room / lounge to get to my console in the kitchen.

One of these zones will set off the alarm - correct....?

I don't suppose anyone out there has a detailed user manual for the optima XM6, I downloaded

one which I found but that didn't give details of any wiring instructions etc....?

Thanks again,

John

Guest johnahealey