Security Installer Community

Melcom ST - 6100 Alarm Panel

Guest Yanky Andy

Guest Yanky Andy

Hi Guys,

I am a fully qualified electrician and a bit of an old timer, but unfortunately I am new over here from the USA. I am currently requalifying as a British electrician but have installed many intruder systems in the U.S.

I want to install my own system over here, and particualy liked the Melcom ST-6100 panel, as it was reasonably priced and seems to have the capabilities to do everything I need. i.e. It has inputs for Fire/Smoke sensors, Telephone Autodialler Output, and I like the interactive RKP's that are available for the unit as well as the Sleep Watch Remote Pad.

I notice from a previous forum, that other engineers seem to have reccomended against the Melcom panel, in favour of Texecom Veritas 8 or Accenta 8 Panels.

Can anyone advise me of a good panel, that meets with my requirements with the above in mind.

Many thanks,

Yanky Andy.

Guest aechlin

Hi Andy, I have the Melcom ST6600 with RKP and Sleepwatch. It performs well except:

The display throws a wobbly sometimes and displays different characters

There is a short delay in pressing the numbers on the RKP and the function being executed

The tamper isnt 24 hours

and when in alarm state the display will show a completely different zone???????

I have quized Melcom over all this and they say that there is an issue with the data bus between the RKP and the Sleepwatch (the system is ok with just the RKP)

"When we have sorted the issue we will provide the appropriate fix"

I moved into my house and found that after pulling the Menvier T790 and replacing with the Melcom system, I have ended up re-fitting the Menvier.

So all in all the Menvier is a far superior system over the Melcom. Their ok for the common of DIY'rs but not for someone with a fine attention to detail............

I am open to offers for the equipment c/w installation and user manual, no more than 15 months old. OIRO £45

Alistair