Security Installer Community

Various Siemens Intrunet E-Line Pirs

How can they ever be as good as the mirrored optic Alarmcom designed IR series they replaced?

That's what I thought when I got the email saying that the IR series were dead and buried, I think nearly

20 years since they first turned up on the scene.

post-4216-0-58935800-1405346012_thumb.jp

Many years before that though, Siemens quietly launched the e-line series... Which today looks like this,

line up wise:

post-4216-0-65998800-1405346128_thumb.jp

There is even a website which looks a bit like this - http://www.e-linedetector.com/e-line/

So I've been using the IR series for a few years with great success (although, ironically, since they were discontinued,

I've had 2 false alarms on IR sites that have been cured* by replacement with the e-lines...) *fingers crossed.

Other than that I've had a few test sites including a 'difficult' conservatory type scenario, with pets, which has stood

up remarkably well.

What do they look like?

Well you'll probably love or hate them. They are definitely 'big'; have a look at this one posing on a whippet blanket;

post-4216-0-74642900-1405346453_thumb.jp

That's approx 10cm high.

post-4216-0-80288500-1405346889_thumb.jp post-4216-0-73721300-1405346893_thumb.jp

They carry over the design from the old IR series of the plug-in backplate, which is good because now the entire range has the

same footprint.

So far, the advantages as I see them are:

+ Cost, you'll be pleasantly surprised at the SecWare prices on the G2 PIR

+ The entire range is Pet Friendly, although choose 60KG and you'll lose the EN. This also seems odd for G3!

+ Universal backplate for upgrades to DT

+ White Light filters available

+ Corridor version available

+ Matching 2 way wireless unit for SPC panel fans (not trialled yet)

+ Nice easy to use terminals

+ EOL units plug in and easy to fit

+ In tests have performed flawlessly to date.

But...