Security Installer Community

Sales Training

Hello, 

I been reading through the forum and I think this be ideal place for you guys to give some Sales Techniques which you learned. 

As you may know I am a Engineer for a National Security Company which is not A*T but I did start with them.   Even as a Engineer we are given Sales & Service training as 99% of upsell is when we talk to customer about a extra product or service which customer then calls up and asks for and we get to do quotes when were installing alarms or etc at neighbours which is always good or when we install we place Door Handle Leaflets telling them about their new security feature in the street.

So I know many of you are smaller companies and I know you all are fighting to put some food on table every week so I just want help you get some tips and I sure you have tips of your own. 

I will talking about several different ways of gaining a customer quote first

You get customers normally via 2 methods 

Customer found you via Vans, Leaflet, Yell or etc. 

or You find the customer via details from a other install or you bought the data. 

I would say its very important to always ask customer 'Where did you hear about us?' which is ideal if you get X via Yell and Y via 118 or Z via Self-Generated.  Which then helps you reduce or increase marketing and what method is working better.  You can do this very simply by every New Customer do this on there quote and put it on a Spreadsheet or in a notepad what every works for you. 

The next Method is now all about Service

People will buy a Product or Service from the Person.   If the customer asked you for alarm price then its easy as They WANT the product and Service and now you got sell yourself to them. 

I would always start with customer and say.