Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Auto Dialer For Veritas R8


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Scotty2

Scotty2

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:19 PM

Does anyone know can an autodialer be fitted to the veritas R8 system. i think the switched negative for the bell box can be used.
  • 0

#2 Guest_Oxo_*

Guest_Oxo_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:23 PM

Take your pick really.
Most work the same way. Some allow the polarity to be +ve or -ve.
Cooper do a decent one. As do Risco.
  • 0

#3 Scotty2

Scotty2

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:37 PM

Is this the norm for adding an autodialer to this type of system?
  • 0

#4 Guest_Oxo_*

Guest_Oxo_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:42 PM

Low end panel ( to pros) so yes a lot use a dialler. Better than a SMS text service and cheaper than a standard central station connection(ARC).
There must be thousands of panels with diallers attached.
Note it is illegal to have a dialler call 999/911.
  • 0

#5 Scotty2

Scotty2

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:48 PM

sorry i may posted that question slighty wrong. What i meant was is the autodialer normally connected to the switched negative for the bell box or is there another way of doing it. I am going for the Veritas R8 as i have fitted them before and have had no problems but never realised that an autodialler could be fitted to this system. I know some systems come with a connnection output for such an item
  • 0

#6 Guest_Oxo_*

Guest_Oxo_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2010 - 03:54 PM

Ahh right, You can use the bell output yes.
Cannot remember if there is a programmable output on a R8, not fitted one for over 10 years!
The R8+ and Excell do have outputs.
If it is a R8 and you use the bell switched neg remember a bell test will trip the dialler as well as any user errors that let the bells ring. Whereas an intruder output would only trip if a zone was tripped when set.
  • 0

#7 AdrianMealing

AdrianMealing

    Super Member

  • Manuf/Distrib/Whole
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,761 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 05:30 PM

What Oxo said, and as i am completely biased, a Texecom dialler will suit you fine.
  • 0

amealing@texe.com

Head of Industry Affairs

Chairman Security Equipment Manufacturers Section BSIA
Visit Our Website
Texecom, Designed to Perform


#8 Guest_Oxo_*

Guest_Oxo_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2010 - 05:32 PM

Soz Adrian, if I had started mentioning every dialler would have been typing all night lol.
OP, using a Texecom one would be easier as all wiring would match up.
  • 0

#9 hpotter

hpotter

    Super Member +

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 05:45 PM

some bellboxes dont like you messing with trig output from panel, gives them a tingling feeling.

i assume all ok if tex panel/dialler & bellbox though?
  • 0

#10 jameswilson

jameswilson

    Famous Member

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,098 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 05:47 PM

See id go for a honeywell or menvier unit myself

Soz adrian never used a tex dialler. Just dont rely on anything sms based. Major problems at the mo fir anyone who (foolishly imho) uses sms as their primary signaling
  • 0

www.securitywarehouse.co.uk Security & Fire Distribution


#11 AdrianMealing

AdrianMealing

    Super Member

  • Manuf/Distrib/Whole
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,761 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 06:16 PM

No problem guys, actually we do two diallers one with and one without text capability, although in the current climate i would agree with James, the text service is not reliable, it works most of the time but there are occasions where it does not. This is because all manufacturers are relying on a third party to provide the transfer from PSTN to text.
  • 0

amealing@texe.com

Head of Industry Affairs

Chairman Security Equipment Manufacturers Section BSIA
Visit Our Website
Texecom, Designed to Perform


#12 jameswilson

jameswilson

    Famous Member

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,098 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 06:19 PM

Agreed the problem is mobile network related not manufacturer / installer related
  • 0

www.securitywarehouse.co.uk Security & Fire Distribution


#13 hpotter

hpotter

    Super Member +

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 06:38 PM

This is because all manufacturers are relying on a third party to provide the transfer from PSTN to text.


not having a dig at you or any manufacturer, just want to point out its installers who are relying on 3rd & 4th party to provide beyond our control what we sold to our customers. T & c's dont wash so well at the sharp end.
  • 0

#14 AdrianMealing

AdrianMealing

    Super Member

  • Manuf/Distrib/Whole
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,761 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 06:43 PM

Mr Potter, you are quite correct, and all manufacturers are in the same boat, but i agree it's the installer that gets the front line flack from the customer, we get it second hand, usually when the phones go mental at Tech Support.
  • 0

amealing@texe.com

Head of Industry Affairs

Chairman Security Equipment Manufacturers Section BSIA
Visit Our Website
Texecom, Designed to Perform


#15 hpotter

hpotter

    Super Member +

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 06:49 PM

as posted, wasnt digging Adrian. not now even when I add, our lines (tech/help whatever) are open 24hrs. calls in the early hours to inform us our systems not working ..

hey ho, its the choices we make :)
  • 0

#16 arfur mo

arfur mo

    Elite Member ++

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,221 posts

Posted 18 October 2010 - 07:07 PM

No problem guys, actually we do two diallers one with and one without text capability, although in the current climate i would agree with James, the text service is not reliable, it works most of the time but there are occasions where it does not. This is because all manufacturers are relying on a third party to provide the transfer from PSTN to text.

and top class they are to, love you can set the calling order without re-inputting the numbers for holidays etc


I have 5 that monitor private generators, engine stops or missfirss sensor fires to call duty engineer. They look in via PC and decide on action to take

Used SD1+ and vocaliser, but IMHO tex blows them away for anything fitted post Market.

Risco G490 of G595 with voice dialler built in takes some beating on vfm especially if dialler required from the get go.

Arfur
  • 0
If you think education is difficult, try being stupid!!!!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users