Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Response Sa5 Control Panel Frozen


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Bluenikky68

Bluenikky68

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 07:09 PM

Hi there (newbie here I'm afraid!)

Have an SA5 and got in tonight to find it all lit up like a belated Xmas tree, but can't get it to do anything! Typically, I get this on a Friday, an hour after the Response support lines close for the weekend!

Alarm has not been armed (or touched) for the last few days, yet tonight it shows:
Message: "Press ENTER to Start Recording"
Power light lit red
Alarm status lit green
Alarm Mem/ Message lit red
Keypad all illuminated
Message panel only illuminated on "listen (4); see below.

I can't ESC out or ENTER; the keypad only lights and beeps when I press "listen" (4), but still no reaction from anything. The keyboard is now permanently lit, though the text backlight comes on with "listen" then goes off as normal. I've phoned in remotely and checked status, which is still indicating "disarmed", but nothing else. I've also tried arming and dis-arming with the remote fob, but seems to have no effect. Can't find anything relevant on Google or the forum search. As I live in an apartment block, I really don't need the alarm triggering in the middle of the night!!! I know that no buttons have been 'inadvertently' pressed.

Does anybody have any ideas how to resolve this and what may have caused it? ...... Pleeeeze and thank you!!

Nik
  • 0

#2 Alarm Protection

Alarm Protection

    Super Member +

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,741 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 09:48 PM

Turn it off then on and if nothing happens then fire it into the bin.
  • 0
!

#3 Bluenikky68

Bluenikky68

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:28 PM

Have tried that already, but as back-up battery is in, makes no difference; I get the expected flashing power light, which goes steady again once I switch power back on!

Am loathe to "bin it" as less than 2 years old and this is the first problem with a system that is not cheap! Maybe this is the wrong forum/ site for self-installed systems? Please let me know if so.

Thanks, Nik
  • 0

#4 Chorlton

Chorlton

    "The Neurologist"

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,825 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:37 PM

take the battey out too?
  • 0

#5 Bluenikky68

Bluenikky68

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:49 PM

Thanks for that - will keep fingers crossed tonight and try that tomorrow at a more sociable hour! As you can imagine, I'll have the problem of alarm going off anyway, as cannot switch it to test mode at the moment, so the tamper will kick in! Ouch!! I guess that this is not a 'known' issue with these systems? Will keep the link updated ....

Nik
  • 0

#6 Rulland

Rulland

    Super Member

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,397 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:54 PM

take the battey out too?


'Nora'-And the 'battery' too :rolleyes: ...................LOL sorry C
  • 0

#7 Alarm Protection

Alarm Protection

    Super Member +

  • Trade Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,741 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 10:57 PM

Have tried that already, but as back-up battery is in, makes no difference; I get the expected flashing power light, which goes steady again once I switch power back on!

Am loathe to "bin it" as less than 2 years old and this is the first problem with a system that is not cheap! Maybe this is the wrong forum/ site for self-installed systems? Please let me know if so.

Thanks, Nik


Tbh nik have you tested the zones since the system has been installed? The system is not cheap but when i bought my mower from B&Q it was not cheap either but i still got around 2 years out of it and had to buy a new one from a grass machinery company that gets serviced every year. 4 years on and still goes like a dream.
You should be able to put a panel on test when you wand as engineer has access to all areas.
  • 0
!

#8 jameswilson

jameswilson

    Famous Member

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,064 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:00 PM

OP one of the issues is as pro installers the bulk of us will be replacing these things not working on them so have little useful knowledge of them
they are not pro systems nor designed as such.
im sure that being easy to install is high up on the feature list..... the stuff we use does not have that as a priority, security and reliability etc feature way higher than that. Sorry,

James
  • 0

www.securitywarehouse.co.uk Security & Fire Distribution


#9 Bluenikky68

Bluenikky68

    Newbie

  • Newbie
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 01:43 PM

Well, I managed to get it all powered off without the tamper alarm sounding too many times, as fortunately the remote fob worked though the keypad wouldn't. Same problem happening on power up, so tried a factory reset, but same thing. I'll see what Response say on Monday, but guess I'll be binning it after all! :ranting:

Thanks to you all for the help and advice though! I'll get one of you in to install the next one! LOL.
  • 0




4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users